Dog Licensing

Knox County Auditor's Office
tel. (740) 393-6750
8:00AM - 4:00PM, Mon-Fri
Closed Weekends & Holidays

Jonette Curry
Auditor
 
 
 
Dog Licensing FAQ

Knowingly providing FALSE information to a public official is a violation of Section 2921.13A5 of the Ohio Revised Code and is a misdemeanor of the first degree. Please read this page before applying for a dog license.

Does my dog need a license?
- Yes. Your dog can be up to three (3) months old before it is required to get a license. All dogs over three (3) months of age must be licensed.
Back to top
Why should I get a license for my dog?
- Because it's the law! And a license is a lost dog's ticket home! When your dog has its license attached to its collar, its assigned license number is all that is necessary for our office to identify the dog's owner.
Back to top
What do I do if I find a lost dog?
- If the dog is wearing a current Knox County license tag, you can search the Dog Database for the owner or give us a call during working hours:
(740) 393-6713
Knox County Dog Shelter
285 Columbus Rd.
Mt. Vernon, OH 43050
M-W, F: 8:00am-5:00pm
Sat: 8:00am-4:00pm Sun: Closed
Back to top
How do I report my dog as having been lost?
- Contact the Knox County Dog Shelter.
(740) 393-6713
Knox County Dog Shelter
285 Columbus Rd.
Mt. Vernon, OH 43050
M-W, F: 8:00am-5:00pm
Sat: 8:00am-4:00pm Sun: Closed
Back to top
How often does the license have to be renewed?
- Dog licenses must be renewed annually between December 1 and January 31.
Back to top
How much does an online dog license cost?
- The annual base fee for an online dog license in Knox County is $18.00 (this amount reflects an online processing fee of $2.00). If you are registering the dog after July 1, some fees may be prorated.
Back to top
How can I avoid a late fee?
- Ohio law requires licenses to be renewed between December 1 and January 31 each year. After January 31, if you wait more than thirty (30) days to license a dog over three (3) months of age, Ohio law requires the Auditor to assess a late fee equal to the cost of the license. There are no provisions in the law to waive the fee.
Back to top
How do I get a duplicate license? How do I replace a lost license?
- If you or your pet loses a license, you can request a duplicate license from the County Auditor's Office for $5.00. Please contact us for the necessary form at:
(740) 393-6805
Jonette Curry
Knox County Auditor
117 E. High St.
Mt. Vernon, Ohio 43050
Back to top
How do I transfer a license to a new owner?
- The ownership of a current dog license can be transferred to another owner for $5.00. The current owner on file, or executor of the current owner's estate, must sign the transfer form. It is also advisable for the new owner to sign the form. Please contact us for the necessary form at:
(740) 393-6805
Jonette Curry
Knox County Auditor
117 E. High St.
Mt. Vernon, Ohio 43050
Back to top
What if I move?
- If you move within Knox County, you can call (740) 393-6805 with your new address and telephone number so we can keep the information up-to-date. If you move to another county, call that County's Auditor for licensing information.
Back to top
Where do the proceeds go from the dog license program?
- The license proceeds support the Knox County dog shelter and the issuance of licenses.
The license proceeds are the sole support for day-to-day operations at the Knox County Dog Shelter.
Back to top
Where can I find the laws that apply to dog licensing?
- The laws governing dog licensing in the State of Ohio can be found in the Ohio Revised Code (ORC), sections 955.01 thru 955.99. Please click here to read/view all the relevant laws.
Back to top
How do I know that purchasing a license online is safe?
- The system is PCI DSS compliant and uses industry-standard technology for the secure handling of user and credit card information. All passwords and credit card numbers are encrypted. Hard drives in production servers are encrypted. During a transaction any sensitive data is transported via SSL. Firewalls guard against intrusion. Any unnecessary server application is turned off. Periodic scans by a third-party are done to detect vulnerabilities and maintain PCI DSS compliance.
Back to top
Do County Officials have access to my credit card information?
- No. Credit card information is not made available to County Officials. If for any reason your credit card cannot be processed, you will be notified via email or telephone and asked to log in to your account to verify credit card information and to make any necessary corrections. Credit card orders for dog licenses will not be accepted over the telephone.
Back to top
How will I know that my payment was made?
- You will see a confirmation page with a transaction number after completing the payment process. We recommend you print or save this page for your records.
Back to top
How long does it typically take before I receive my dog license?
- Licenses are sent through postal mail and should arrive within 10 business days. The charge will be posted to your credit card at time of registration. Contact us if your dog license doesn't reach you within this period. Please allow extra time for processing during December 1 to February 28.
Back to top
 
 
Copyright © Online Dog Licensing  ·  All rights reserved  ·  www.OnlineDogLicensing.com